Type to search

Akeredolu Emerges APC Governorship Candidate, Records Landslide Victory

Political News

Akeredolu Emerges APC Governorship Candidate, Records Landslide Victory


Incumbent governor of Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu, has won the governorship primary election held on Monday landslide.
Akeredolu polled 2,725 to become the candidate of the party, Olusola Oke came second with 262 votes while lsaacs Kekemeke came a distant third with 19 votes
Over 3,127 delegates voted in the election which commenced by 2pm and ended by 820pm.
Akeredolu led in all the 18 council areas of the state.
The governorship primary was held at the international Event Centre, the Dome in Akure, the state capital.
Eight aspirants contested the election after four stepped down for the incumbent governor.
The aspirants include the incumbent governor Rotimi Akeredolu, Olusola Oke, Olayide Adelami, Isaacs Kekemeke, Jumoke Anifowose, Sola Iji, Awodeyi Akinsehinwa and Bukola Adetula.
Four aspirants stepped down for the incumbent governor Rotimi Akeredolu before the election.
One of the aspirants, lfe Oyedele stepped down Sunday night while Dr Olusegun Abraham, Jimi Odimayo and Nathaniel Adojutelegan stepped down few hours to the election.
The sorting and counting ended by 1, 117 pm.
The number of invalid votes was 33.
Olaiye Adelami had four votes.
Bukola Adetula Nil
Nathaniel Adojutelegan- four votes
Jumoke Anifowose- two
Awodeyi one vote
Sola lji nine
Isaacs Kekemeke 19 votes
Jimi Odimayo Nil
Ife Oyedele- one vote
Sola Oke- 262.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *