Type to search

Zonal Congress: Oyo Will Not Present Chairmanship Candidate- Aggrieved Party Leaders

Political News

Zonal Congress: Oyo Will Not Present Chairmanship Candidate- Aggrieved Party Leaders


Leaders of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo state on Monday held a close-door meeting at Chief Nureni Akanbi’s house in Ibadan, as part of their consultation and strategies ahead of the forthcoming Southwest PDP Congress.

westerndailynews further learnt that the leaders in Oyo state at the meeting resolved to support Eddy Olafeso in the forthcoming Congress as zonal chairman of the party, as agreed at a recent meeting with the zonal leaders of the party.

The above reflected in the communique issued after the meeting and made available to GOALPOACHER NEWS. The communique indicated that leaders of the party resolved to unify all aggrieved members and intensify effort in their preparation for the forthcoming southwest congress slated for this year.

According to the communique, the leaders also unanimously agreed not to nominate nor sponsor any chairmanship candidate from Oyo state but to honor the agreement made with Southwest leaders of the party in build up to Ondo state governorship election.

The communique signed by all the leaders read in part; “We came here to strategize ahead of the southwest forthcoming congress. It is very necessary for us to come together and sharpen our tools ahead of the congress. we deliberated on lot of issues and we reached a positive conclusion in all what we discussed.

“It is no longer news that, no chairmanship candidate coming from Oyo state, there is an agreement made that we are going to return the Eddy Olafeso exco and every leaders from all the state still standing on the agreement, so Oyo state can’t be left out and we dont want anybody to use his or her selfish interest to cause dispute in our great party.

“We are still going to hold more meetings before the congress but the issue of chairmanship for the congress is settled, Oyo state is supporting the effort to return Eddy at the coming congress”.

Some of the party leaders that attended the meeting include : Chief Nureeni Akanbi, Engr. Femi Babalola, Alh. Bisi olopoeyan, Aranse Basiru, Dele Adigun,  Baba Sunday Alabi, Alhaji Azeez Ajinowo,
Malam Yusuf,  Alh. Bola Akinyemi among others.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *